Share |

Hartford Students Slated for Model United Nations

HARTFORD —  A record 62 high school students from Hartford Public Schools will join more than 700 of their colleagues from across the state this weekend as delegates to the annual Model United Nations Plenary Session, sponsored for more than 60 years by the World Affairs Council of Connecticut.

The session will take place Friday, Dec. 6, from 2:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., and Saturday, Dec. 7, from 9:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at the University of Hartford, 200 Bloomfield Ave. in West Hartford.

The Model U.N. is a simulated meeting of the United Nations General Assembly in which student teams, each representing member nations, meet and discuss ways to resolve the most pressing issues occurring around the world.

Participants research their countries, take on roles as diplomats of those countries, investigate international issues, debate within parliamentary rules and procedures, consult and develop solutions to world problems, and ultimately they vote on those solutions.

“What an ideal way to help prepare our future leaders in education, government, business and philanthropy to make life-changing decisions that impact future generations,” said Hartford Schools Superintendent Christina M. Kishimoto. “The Model U.N. challenges their thinking, hones their decision-making skills and their ability to collaborate with others and broadens their world perspective.”

Among Hartford Public Schools, a team from Bulkeley High School will represent Colombia; teams from Capital Preparatory Magnet School will represent Germany and Norway; High School Inc. will represent Greece; the Law and Government Academy will represent Sri Lanka and Singapore; and Classical Magnet School will represent Syria.

“We are very proud of the participation from Hartford Public Schools this year,” said Megan Torrey, Interim Executive Director of the World Affairs Council of Connecticut. “Our Model U.N. program provides an opportunity for student to tackle complex global issues and develop lifelong skills that enhance their competiveness in the global workforce.”

Preparations for the Model U.N. begin in September, when representatives from the participating schools meet to choose the topics that could be discussed. A variety of topics are designated to one of four committees; the Political Committee, the Economic Committee, the Environmental Committee and the Humanitarian Committee. Student delegates in each committee then choose a topic the will stimulate debate and foster increased understanding of each committee’s focus. As part of their preparations, the participants also get to attend briefings with real world diplomats at the United Nations in New York City.

This year, the Political Committee will debate U.N. Security Council Reform; the Economic Committee will debate Global Partnership for Development; the Environmental Committee will debate Sustainable Transportation; and the Humanitarian Committee will debate Corporate Social Responsibility.

The following is a list of the Hartford students participating in the Model U.N. session and the schools they represent:


Bulkeley High School:

Abdirizak Abdirizak, Kevin Bedon, Chardia Campbell, Cuifen Chen, Kamara Garcia,

Ahmed Guster, Moira Hooks, Amina Huric, Samir Mustafic, Jose Ramirez, Romaine Thomas, Gaitri Tulsie.


Capital Preparatory Magnet School:

Daniel Augustus, Jazmine Alicea, Miguel Badillo, Monifah Baltimore, Marquise Clarke, Emma Knauerhase, Nashaly Olivieri, Joseph Priester, Cassandra Spann, Madison Vidal, Cole Zajack, Haddiyyah Ali, Ashli Beamon, Eric Bergen, Ilhan Braxton, Shawn Hilton Bush, Janay Diaz, Lakisha Malave, Chad Hill, Aleyah Seabrook, Emmett Riddick, Ronald Watson, Vanessa Williams.


High School Inc.:

Amberleigh Delgado, Madyson Frame, Roy Scott, Vinecia Thaxter.


Law and Government Academy:

Xavier Arriaga, Paola Hernandez, Ashley Jimenez, Natasha Ruiz, Nora Dweh, Valery Alegre, Abigail Velazquez, Mikal Lee, Anthony Thomas, Ivan Del Rio, Carissa Dullary.


Classical Magnet School:

Michael Demers, Chantel Tetreault, Kathryn Hedrick, Fiona Aufiero, Joy Vincenzo, Alex Vertefeuille, Matthew Puzio.


Participating schools:

Metropolitan Learning Center, Bloomfield; Lewis S. Mills High School, Burlington; Canton High School, Parish Hill High School, Chaplin; CT IB Academy, East Hartford;, CT River Academy, East Hartford; East Hartford High School, Enfield High School, Farmington High School, Glastonbury High School, Granby Memorial High School, Lyman Memorial High School, Lebanon; East Catholic High School, Manchester; North Branford High School, RHAM, The Ethel Walker School, Simsbury; Simsbury High School, South Windsor High School, Southington High School, E.O. Smith High School, Storrs; Suffield High School, Hall High School, West Hartford; Northwest Catholic High School, West Hartford; The Master’s School, West Simsbury; Westbrook High School, Medical Professions and Teacher Preparation Academy, Windsor; Wolcott High School.

Email us:
LIKE Us on Facebook
  • Latest News
  • Tags
  • Subscribe
Advertise Here
Your SEO optimized title