Share |

Malloy Names New Board of Ed Members

HARTFORD — Gov. Dannel P. Malloy has appointed eight new members on the State Board of Education.

“It is incumbent upon us to put in place a set of standards that will allow Connecticut students to be the best educated and best prepared in the world—one that provides them with the tools necessary to compete in a global economy,” Malloy said in a statement to the press on Friday.  “These nominees come from diverse backgrounds and experiences, and I’m confident they can help set the standards needed to bring our students to the top.
Joseph J. Vrabely, Jr. was appointed as an interim member of the State Board of Education by Gov. M. Jodi Rell in 2010. He was reappointed. The new members include retired teacher Patricia Keavney-Maruca of Watertown; family farm operator Terry Jones of Shelton; former teacher Ellen Camhi of Stamford; and Pfizer Inc. regulatory manager Charles Jaskiewicz of Norwich.

Others are former Connecticut State University System Vice Chancellor Estela Lopez of East HartfordMetro-North Railroad program manager Ferdinand Risco Jr. of New Haven; andTrumbull attorney Stephen Wright.

Jaskiewicz, Risco, Wright and Camhi are current or former members of their local school boards.

The State Board of Education establishes academic standards and sets policy for Connecticut’s 149 local and 17 regional school districts, including preschool, elementary and secondary education, special education, vocational education and adult education.

The Board consists of thirteen members, at least two of whom have experience in manufacturing or a trade offered at the Technical High School System, at least one of whom has experience in agriculture, and two nonvoting Grade 12 student members.  The eleven voting members are appointed to four-year terms.


Email us:
LIKE Us on Facebook
  • Latest News
  • Tags
  • Subscribe
Advertise Here
Your SEO optimized title